Water Quality photo identifier

Water Quality Program

Water Quality Program - Columbia River

About the Water Quality Program

Four pillars of our strategic plan:

  • Align around the common purpose of protecting the integrity of Washington’s waters.
  • Focus on delivering results that maintain and protect water quality.
  • Always do better.
  • Strive to be enablers and advocates of leadership and respect.

Downloads:

2015-2020 Strategic plan
2015-2020 Executive summary
2015-2020 One page overview

Our Mission

To protect and restore Washington’s waters to sustain healthy watersheds and communities. Our work ensures that state waters support beneficial uses including recreational and business activities, supplies for clean drinking water, and the protection of fish, shellfish, wildlife, and public health.

Our Vision

Working with engaged citizens and partners, we restore and maintain the integrity of Washington’s waters by preventing and eliminating water pollution.

Our Values

We value our staff and their commitment to public service. We aspire to develop a culture and program that has high levels of respect, innovation, excellence, teamwork, ownership and inclusion.

Our Goals

(click each goal for objectives)

Goal 1A: Prevent and reduce point and stormwater pollution

Goal 1B: Prevent and reduce nonpoint pollution

Goal 2A: Clean-up water pollution

Goal 2B: Engage partners and citizens in the work to protect and restore water quality

Goal 3: Provide excellent technical and financial assistance

Goal 4: Develop, recruit, and retain highly qualified and committed staff

 

Contacts & Organization

Department of Ecology contact information

Submit general questions (will be forwarded to appropriate staff)

Water Quality Program Organization Chart

External Committees

Water Quality Program contacts

Program Manager (Lacey)
Heather Bartlett 360-407-6405
heather.bartlett@ecy.wa.gov
 
Deputy Program Manager
Don Seeberger 360-407-6489
don.seeberger@ecy.wa.gov
Financial Mgmt. Section (Lacey)
Jeff Nejedly 360-407-6572
jeffrey.nejedly@ecy.wa.gov

Program Development Services Section (Lacey)
Bill Moore 360-407-6460
bill.moore@ecy.wa.gov
Watershed Mgmt. Section (Lacey)
Melissa Gildersleeve 360-407-6461
melissa.gildersleeve@ecy.wa.gov
 
Central Region (Union Gap)
David Bowen 509-457-7107
david.bowen@ecy.wa.gov
Eastern Region (Spokane)
James Bellatty 509-329-3534
james.bellatty@ecy.wa.gov
 
Northwest Region (Bellevue)
Kevin Fitzpatrick 425-649-7033
kevin.fitzpatrick@ecy.wa.gov
Southwest Region (Lacey)
Rich Doenges 360-407-6271
rich.doenges@ecy.wa.gov
 
Communications & Outreach  (Lacey)
Sandy Howard 360-407-6408
sandy.howard@ecy.wa.gov

Persons with hearing loss, call 711 for Washington Relay Service. Persons with a speech disability, call 877-833-6341.

Return to top

Return to Water Quality Home